Become a SHAPT Member  

 

About SHAPT

Welcome to the The Sam Houston Chapter of the Texas Association for Play Therapy (SHAPT). SHAPT is the local arm of the Texas Association for Play Therapy, a branch of the Association for Play Therapy. The purpose of SHAPT is to provide a forum for discussion of play therapy ideas and concerns.

We are happy that you are visiting our web page. We hope this site serves as a resource for information about play therapy for the greater Houston metropolitan area.

The Purpose of SHAPT

The purpose of SHAPT is to provide a forum for discussion of play therapy ideas and concerns. The mission of the Association for Play Therapy is to promote the value of play, play therapy, and credentialed play therapists. To satisfy this mission, the Association for Play Therapy will advance the psychosocial development and mental health of all people by sponsoring and supporting those programs, services, and related activities that promote the:

  • Public understanding and appreciation of play and play therapy;
  • Effective practice of play therapy through research, education and training, and support;
  • Recognition, incorporation, and preservation of diversity in play and play therapy;
  • Development and maintenance of a strong professional organization that satisfies this mission.

The Goals of SHAPT are to:

  • Seek to advance the discipline of play therapy.
  • Conduct and foster programs of education in the field of play therapy.
  • Promote sound play therapy practices in the interest of society and the individual.
  • Advance high standards of professional conduct by conducting educational and professional
    meetings and conferences.
  • Inform and educate the general public and the mental health community about the play
    therapy profession.
  • Establish contacts with various organizations for support and educational pursuits; and
  • To advocate for the rights of children, their families, and significant others.

SHAPT Officers 2016-17

PRESIDENT PAST PRESIDENT PRESIDENT-ELECT
Marian Redsun, LCSW, RPT mrredsun@aldineisd.org Charlene Rogers, M.A., LPC-S, RPT-S
charlene@charlenerogerstherapy.com
Kelly Peyton, MA, LPC, RPT, CCTP kelly@westhoustoncounseling.com
TREASURER CORRESPONDING SECRETARY RECORDING SECRETARY
Adriana Hatche,
M.A., MBA, LPC-I
rahatche@yahoo.com
Teresa Brown, M.Ed., LPC, NCC, RPT teresab@tbrowntherapy.com Haley Garth, LPC, RPT, NCC haley.garth@gmail.com
TAPT CHAPTER LIAISON DIRECTOR AT LARGE
Julia Byeseda, LCSW, CTP
admin@juliascounseling.com
Marilyn Crawford, LPC mscrawford@comcast.net